

Attachment A:

Raupo Drainage Committee

Reports to: Kaipara District Council

Chair: Ian Beattie

Membership: Deputy Mayor Anna Curnow, David Hart, Greg Gent, Grace Le Gros.

Brian Madsen, Ross McKinley and Councillor David Wills

Meeting frequency: Three times a year

Quorum: Four, with at least one member to be an elected member

Terms of Reference

Raupo Drainage Committee was established under the 1989 Re-organisation Order to govern the Raupo Drainage District. It is a co-governance committee between Council and ratepayers within that District.

Purpose

To govern the drainage, stopbanks and flood protection in the Raupo Drainage District.

Responsibilities

- Provide input into the Annual Plan and Long Term Plan processes
- Provide input into the Asset Management Plan
- Provide input into policies, bylaws or other regulatory tools for the Reserve
- Advise on the financial governance of the Drainage District
- Advise on agreements with external organisations for the use of the Drainage District's lands, including all leases and Licences to Occupy
- Monitor statutory compliance and report any issues to Council
- Monitor the Drainage District's environment (in regards to waters and drainage) and report any issues to Council
- Act as a contact point for land drainage issues to Drainage District ratepayers and residents and report any issues to Council.

Delegations

- Set the annual works programmes within the allocated budgets in the Annual Plan or Long Term Plan
- Make recommendations to Council.

Membership review

- Ratepayer representatives are elected prior to each triennial local body election
- If a vacancy occurs in the ratepayer representatives, then the Committee can appoint an eligible ratepayer for the rest of the term.